Zion Williamson Becomes the Third Freshmen to Win the Wooden Award

Zion Williams claims another piece of hardware.

Photo From: AP Photos

Zion Williamson unsurprisingly claimed the throne as the best player in college basketball by taking home the John R. Wooden Award. He’s only the third ever freshmen to win this award, following up Kevin Durant and Anthony Davis.

It’s hard to truly call this breaking news because it didn’t take a genius to see who was the best player in college basketball. Zion was reminiscent of a young LeBron James flying through the air slamming home dunks and swatting shots into the third row.

Zion won his fourth award of the post-season after previously claiming the AP Player of the Year, Naismith Award, and the Karl Malone best power-forward in the country award.

He average 22.6 points, 8.9 rebounds, and 2.1 assists per game this season.

Zion hasn’t yet declared for the draft, unlike teammates Cam Reddish and RJ Barrett, but he’s the consensus number one pick when he leaves Duke.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top