Minnesota Vikings Make Moves to get to the 53-Man Roster

Vikings get down to a 53-man roster.

photo courtesy of bostonherald.com

On Saturday the Vikings announced all the moves that were made to get to the opening game roster of 53 players. Although, there is no ground-breaking news from these moves there are a few noteworthy nuggets.

Laquon Treadwell was a former first-round pick for the Vikings. He never lived up to any expectations on the field and some might even say that this was overdue. The bigger surprise is that the Vikings kept only four WR’s after the cuts. Although it is unlikely to stay that way for long it was a bit of a head-scratcher yesterday. 

A move that was a bit surprising was waiving P/K Kaare Vedvik. It’s not that Vedvik did anything exceptional on the field but more so that the Vikings spent a 5th round draft pick to get him just a few weeks ago. 

Lastly, the inevitable fan-favorite cuts. This happens every year for every team where a player or two manages to catch the hearts of the fanbase. Often, these players are not talented enough to make the cut and the fans will be upset about this until week one when they will forget these otherwise no-name players. For the Vikings this year these players were QB Kyle Sloter and WR Brandon Zylstra. Both performed admirably in the preseason but, when it really comes down to it, would not provide much upside on the 53-man roster. A small argument could be made for Zylstra since the team kept only four WRs but that spot will be filled by a more talented player very soon. 

Below is a list of actions taken by the team yesterday, per Vikings.com:


DE Ade Aruna (Injured)

WR Jeff Badet

FB Khari Blasingame

QB Jake Browning

LB Reshard Cliett

T Aviante Collins

DT Curtis Cothran

WR Davion Davis

LB Devante Downs

C Cornelius Edison

RB De’Angelo Henderson

TE Cole Hikutini

WR Alexander Hollins

CB Craig James

DE Stacy Keely

C John Keenoy

LB Greer Martini

CB Nate Meadors

WR Dillon Mitchell

T Storm Norton

DT Tito Odenigbo

DE Anree Saint-Amour

DE Karter Schult

QB Kyle Sloter

LB Cameron Smith

S Derron Smith

CB Duke Thomas

WR Laquon Treadwell

P/K Kaare Vedvik

T Nate Wozniak

S Isaiah Wharton (Injured)

WR Brandon Zylstra

Placed on Reserve/Suspended:

CB Holton Hill

Placed on Reserve/Physically Unable to Perform:

TE David Morgan

Placed on Reserve/Non-Football Injury:

DE Tashawn Bower

Acquired via Trade from Kansas City for a Conditional Selection in 2021 NFL Draft:

CB Mark Fields

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top